top of page
Search

Photography 101 - My Top 6 Photography Tips for Beginner Journalists

I am by no means an expert in photography.


I started taking photos for my student newspaper, The Gatepost, this semester because I was enrolled in a photography class.


I signed up for the class for two reasons: 1. I know having basic knowledge in photography would be beneficial to my career in journalism and 2. I needed to fill my creative arts gen ed.


If you haven’t already, take a photography class. I have learned an unbelievable amount this semester and improved my photos by so much.


It’s crazy thinking about the progress I made from that first photo failure my freshman year to taking photos of the Boston Marathon as it made its way through Framingham this past October.


So between all my failures and successes, here are some tips for you:


1. Phone photos are just as good as long as your phone as a good camera.


I have been told many times that when it comes to just covering a story that needs a photo or two, taking a photo with your phone is fine. The quality won’t be as great as it would on an actual camera, but technology has come a long way and sometimes it may be your only option, which leads me to my next tip…


(Photos I took on my phone at a coat drive I was covering this weekend.)


2. Be prepared! Make sure you remember to charge your camera’s battery and don’t forget the memory card!!


Unfortunately, when I did cover the Boston Marathon this year I failed to charge my camera battery after a day of photo taking. Thankfully, my phone has a pretty good camera and I was able to make up for my mistake - but it is still disappointing thinking about the photos I could have gotten had I been more prepared.


Too many times I’ve forgotten my memory card in the computer at the office. I would like to say I’ve learned my lesson, but that’s what I thought the first time. Even after making the long trek back to the office with the freezing cold wind whipping me in the face up the hills of Framingham, I continue to forget it. Please don’t be like me!


(My Boston Marathon photos taken on my phone after my camera died.)


3. Know the main three settings and what their purposes are: ISO, shutter speed, and aperture.


Having a basic knowledge in how these settings affect image taking will make it 1000x easier to adjust how your photos are coming out, especially if you are shooting in a dark gym.


Here are some resources for learning more:





4. Know which mode is best for the situation you’re in.


The top of the camera has a dial with many options. Knowing which modes are right for the situation you’re in is vital. For example, when shooting sports you may prefer to use shutter priority. Though I have found my best sports shots have come out in manual when I have complete control over all the settings.


(A photo of the Framingham State Football team I took this semester.)


5. If all else fails - use the auto no flash mode.


This is the mode I started on and it’s your best bet when just capturing a person or an event. This isn’t the best for sports, but it works in most situations.


(Photo taken at the start of the semester while covering

an award ceremony using the auto no flash setting.)


6. Of course, practice makes perfect.


In time, you’ll become more comfortable with your camera and learn what settings are right for you. Even if you’re not covering something, take your camera out and go into different environments. From a dark gym to a bright football field - you’re going to have to cover something - be prepared!


(Various sports I've photographed where I had to adjust to the environment:

The dark gym of basketball, the bright football field, and the dark arena

for hockey that I had to shoot through a dirty, scratched glass.)

Comments


bottom of page